Ambassadors Briefed on the National Dialogue Progress

20th June 2018

The South Sudan National Dialogue leadership has today briefed a group of stakeholders accredited to the body by a Presidential decree.

In a meeting chaired by the Co-Chair of the National Dialogue Steering Committee, Hon. Angelo Beda, and attended by National Dialogue Deputy Rappoteur Dr. Francis Mading Deng and National Dialogue Coordinator, Dr. Lual A. Deng, ambassadors and foreign representatives heard about achievements and constraints facing the peace initiative.

The diplomats expressed personal and their countries’ support for the process.

The Presidential decision to appoint nine ambassadors representing regional countries and bodies serves to enhance transparency and credibility of the work of the National Dialogue Steering Committee.

In existence for a year, the body has since collected data from the grassroots and is currently analyzing the information to produce documents to shape the agendas for Regional Conferences and a National Conference.

Among Ambassadors present were South African Ambassador H.E Gordon M. Yekelo, Ambassador of the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ambassador of Sudan H.E Isam Idris Ibrahim, Special Representative of the Chairperson of the African Union Commission and Head of AU Mission Juba, H.E Amb. Prof. Joram M. Biswaro. Ethiopia was represented by an official from their embassy in Juba while a Kenyan representative was absent.